

## Gina Dent Receives Dizikes Faculty Teaching Award

Gina Dent, Associate Professor of Feminist Studies, has been selected as the 2018-19 recipient of the Dizikes Faculty Teaching Award in Humanities.

Named in honor of Professor Emeritus John Dizikes, the award recognizes the pedagogical expertise and exceptional mentorship of faculty and supports students' commitments to academic excellence and serious inquiry.

Students and colleagues offered high praise for Associate Professor Dent's ability to inspire and engage students since her appointment in 2002, and for creating an inclusive learning environment that both challenges and encourages all students. Having taught essential graduate and undergraduate courses in departments across the Humanities and Social Sciences Divisions, Associate Professor Dent's teaching is characterized as "life changing" and rigorous. One student speaks of having written the paper "I am most proud of in my academic career," for a course taken with Associate Professor Dent. Another comment, "This was one of the most influential classes I took at UCSC."

Associate Professor Dent will be presented with the Dizikes Faculty Teaching Award during the Celebrating the Humanities/Spring Awards event on Wednesday, June 5th at the Cowell Ranch Hay Barn. The awards ceremony takes place from 4:00-5:00 pm; the celebration continues until 7:00 pm.

## Past Award Recipients:

2002 Bruce Thompson – Lecturer in History

2003 Gail Hershatter – Professor of History

2004 Jocelyn Hoy – Lecturer in Philosophy and Feminist Studies

2005 Gildas Hamel – SOE Lecturer in Languages

2006 Jaye Padgett – Professor of Linguistics

2007 Chris Connery - Professor of Literature

2008 Jody Greene - Associate Professor of Literature

2009 Cynthia Polecritti – Associate Professor of History

2010 Daniel Selden - Professor of Literature

2011 Jorge Hankamer – Professor of Linguistics

2012 Alan Christy - Associate Professor of History

2013 Donka Farkas - Professor of Linguistics

2014 Wlad Godzich - Professor of Literature

2015 Catherine A. Jones - Associate Professor of History

2016 Pranav Anand - Associate Professor of Linguistics

2017 Bettina Aptheker - Distinguished Professor of Feminist Studies

2018 Jim McCloskey, Professor of Linguistics