Humanities Division Student Awards



Thanks to many generous gifts from alumni, parents, students, faculty, staff, and friends of UC Santa Cruz, the Humanities Division and our departments are able to award an array of scholarships, awards, and prizes to our students. 

We are grateful that we are able to acknowledge student achievement in the humanities, creative writing, speculative fiction, history, classics, philosophy, and for research on sexual, gendered, and racial violence—just to name a few.


The Bettina Aptheker Award for Research on Sexual, Gendered, and Racial Violence



The Coha/Gunderson Prize in Speculative Futures



The Sol and Esther Draznin Memorial Scholarship in Classical Studies



The Kenneth Andrew Gram Memorial Scholarship



The Idstrom Family Prize for Creative Writing



The David A. Kadish Humanities Scholarship



The Dr. Raihan Kadri Memorial Scholarship



The Siobhan O'Neill Memorial Scholarship



The Don Rothman Endowed Award in First Year Writing


Undergraduate Department Awards