Celebrating the Humanities: Spring Awards 2021–22

May 13, 2022


You're invited!

Join us for our annual celebration recognizing student and faculty academic achievement in the Humanities Division at UC Santa Cruz. 

The 2021–22 Spring Awards ceremony will be a hybrid event with an option to attend in person or via Zoom. Friends and family are welcome.

We will join together to honor the outstanding accomplishments of our students and faculty with remarks from Chancellor Larive, Humanities Dean Jasmine Alinder, and the 2022 Humanities Distinguished Undergraduate Alumni Awardee.

Wherever you’re celebrating, join us in congratulating our exceptional scholars!

RSVP today! 

When: Friday, June 3, 2022, 5:30 p.m. (doors open at 5:00 p.m.)

Where: UC Santa Cruz Cowell Ranch Hay Barn & remotely via Zoom

Please contact Sadie Lynn via sklynn@ucsc.edu with questions.


Doors at 5:00 p.m., program begins at 5:30 p.m.
• Welcome from Humanities Dean Jasmine Alinder
• Congratulatory remarks from Chancellor Cynthia Larive
• Keynote speech from 2022 Humanities Distinguished Undergraduate Alumni Award Recipient Mark Zemelman
• Reading from 2020–21 Don Rothman Endowed Award in First-Year Writing Recipient Christopher Schade

Award presentations
Deans' and Chancellor’s Awards
• Deans' Award recipients: Nicholas Mosher, Arianna Nocelo, Chloe Seifert, Gavin Williams, Daithi Willis, Maia Zelkha
• Deans' and Chancellor’s Award recipients: Lucy DaSilva, Ryan Hart, Rane Vigil
• Humanities Dean's Excellence Award recipients: Ann Niland, Adria Vidales
The Bettina Aptheker Award for Research on Sexual, Gendered, and Racial Violence: Jess Fournier
The Coha-Gunderson Prizes in Speculative Futures: Aidan Andreasen, Rafael Franco, Chloe Rickards
The Kenneth Andrew Gram Memorial Scholarship: Khushal Gujadhur
The Jay Family Humanities Scholarship Awards: Mikayla Jordan (Fall 2021), Maria R. Hele (Spring 2022)
The David A. Kadish Humanities Scholarship: Marcella Prado
The Dr. Raihan Kadri Memorial Scholarship: Louisa Bell

The Siobhan O’Neill Memorial Scholarship: Brianna-Isabella Aispuro
The Mollie Cass Sater Memorial Scholarship in Jewish Studies: Maia Zelkha
The Humanities Institute Undergraduate Research Fellows: Elise Benton, Lia Bonver, Theresa Bostic, Magali Chonteco, Uriel Herszage, Matthew Kogan, Sage Michaels, Dylan Reinders, Maia Zelkha
The Jorge Hankamer Outstanding Graduate Instructor in Linguistics Awards: Morwenna Hoeks, Stephanie Rich
The Dizikes Faculty Teaching Award & Student Scholarships
• Faculty Teaching Award: Elaine Sullivan
• Elaine Sullivan Scholarships: Ryan Hart, Athena Kwan, Sage Michaels
Please stay for a reception to toast our award recipients following the program.